Time Management

One of the most surprising and interesting books I
f ever read was ‘On Becoming A Person’ by Carl Rogers. Rogers was a very influential pyschologist who was among the pioneers of the humanistic approach to psychology.

So what? What does that have to do with time management you might ask?

If there is one thing that I took from his book its that people are happiest when they are moving towards the person they want to be. We all have an image of ourselves and we know it doesn’t always fit the reality of who we are at this moment. If however, we keep moving towards the image of ourselves we want to reach we tend to be happy.

For me that little idea is what I always try to keep in mind when organizing my time. There are a million things to do and a million more distractions on the way. When I’m feeling a little confused or overwhelmed at what the world is throwing me I always try to rethink my schedule according to what kind of person I want to be. If the thing I’m doing doesn’t fit into that category I try to minimize the time I allow for it.

How do you organize your time?
Do you have quotes or famous people that inspire you?

Blogged with the Flock Browser

About allankyoto

Family man, English Teacher, seeker of peace and truth in Nova Scotia Canada. Also former owner and operator of a small language school in Kyoto, Japan.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment