The House of the Scorpion

I just finished reading Nancy Farmer’s House of the Scorpion.  A story of friendship, family, survival and hope. I’m not completely sold on having this as a classroom textbook but I would definitely consider it if I had a class set. 

Some of the ‘big’ questions I could organize units around for this book would be….
1. What if everyone were the same?
2. What makes you feel like an outsider?
3. What makes someone remarkable?
4. Are people more alike or different?
5. Who sees the best in you?
6. Who owns the land?
7. What divides a nation?
8. Why are there “haves” and “have nots”?
 

About allankyoto

Family man, English Teacher, seeker of peace and truth in Nova Scotia Canada. Also former owner and operator of a small language school in Kyoto, Japan.
This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment